Skip to content

Math Prize

The Applied Mathematics Prize is awarded every year in January to the student with the highest GPA, with more importance given to upper division and math courses.  The prize consists of:

  • A certificate or plaque acknowledging the recipient's achievement
  • A cash prize in an amount to be determined
  • Eternal fame by being added to the official public list of winners


A student must

  • Have completed at least 3 upper division Applied Math courses
  • Be in good academic standing
  • Be nominated by a faculty member or lectured by Dec. 1.

Contact Prof. François Blanchette for further information.

Applied Math Prize Winners:

  • 2014-15: Kevin Song (Honorable Mention: Jessica Taylor)
  • 2013-14: Rubi Almanza
  • 2012-13: John Li
  • 2011-12: David Jones and Rachel Schlick (tie)
  • 2010-11: Calvin Heim (Honorable Mention: Brent Edmunds)
  • 2009-10: John Souza
  • 2008-09: Paul Tranquilli